Battle Report
Bull Run Run 50

April 8, 2017

Bull Run Run Home Page

The 25th Bull Run Run had great weather, awesome performances, and throw backs to the past. Frank Probst completed the 25th just as he completed the first. He has done them all--someting no one else has done. The overall winners--Bradley Revenis for the men and Meg Landymore for the women--each won by substantial margins. Team The Survivors had all of its members finish. That's an accomplishment given that if the insurance companies could still not cover you for preexisting illnesses, they would not get insurance.

Team SurvivorsTeam The Survivors
From left: John Garneski, Don Halke, Gary Knipling, and Jack Kurisky with Team Manager Ed Cacciapaglia

Race founder, Chris Scott, reinvigorated the history and tradition of the event. Civil War reenactors were out on the course. The "Chris gooffyness" that started it all, reappeared.

As usual, a cast of thousands of volunteers added to the great experience of the runners.

Two runners ran fastest times by their age group. Maureen Rohrs finished in 11:12:41. That was a half hour faster than the previous female super senior record. Gary Knipling bettered his own fastest time by anyone, male or female, 70 or above at 11:39:00. The course was different this year. We used the high water course. It is not precisely the same distance. From the results on this day, it didn't seem that the course was short. In any event, no one has come close to a better performance in their respective age groups than Maureen or Gary.

We will be adding more to this page. Come back again soon.

If you have pictures or reports that you think should be linked from this page, e-mail Anstr at

Civil War reenactors at pre-race meetingMembers of the 17th Fairfax Rifles with RD Chris Scott
Photo: Jon Jester



See note
Entrants List (for identifying runners)

NOTE: Links below open new windows or tabs. Your back button won't get you back here, but this should keep you from getting lost in the pictures.
  • Kirk Masterson- mainly at Fountainhead Aid Station
  • Send us a link to your photos!



North-South Competition

Finishers under 10 hours5827
Total Entrants348
Factor (North/South)2.0261

Each runner under 10 hours scores for his or her side. If the runner is from the side with the greater number of entrants (the North, as it was in 1861 and is now), he or she will score one point. If the person is from the side with the smaller troop strength (the South), the score will be proportionally larger to account for the lesser troop strength.

The North broke the South's two year winning streak. That means they received frisbies and will have the low bib numbers next year. No one takes this very seriously. Many runners from Virginia ran for the North.

Nash Rambler
Something else that's been there for 25 years--the Nash Rambler. Do Loop aid station volunteers dress up the storied vehicle.
(photo: Eric Levy-Myers)

Note on Photos

We had several photographers this year. There should be a photo of most runners at least somewhere. You should check with the photographer before you use a photo in any way. Most are ok to let you use a photo, including printing it, for private, non-commercial purposes. Any public display of these photos should include proper attribution to the photographer.

Veterans with 10 or more finishes - 67 people

Here are runners who have finished Bull Run Run 10 times or more. Frank Probst has finished all BRRs. The top female finishers are Suzi Spangler and Michele Harmon with 15.

Frank Probst25
Thomas Green23
David Janosko22
Tim Stanley22
Gary Knipling20
Bob Anderson19
Bill Wandel19
Steve Burrows18
John Guendelsberger16
Michael Talbert16
Philip Lechner16
TJ Hawk16
Wesley Fenton16
Michele Harmon15
Keith Knipling15
Suzie Spangler15
Michael Campbell15
Paul Ammann14
Michael Tatarko14
Marcia Peters14
Gaynor Bourgeois14
Harry Smith14
Barry Lewis13
Jaret Seiberg13
Ben Clark12
Michael Yoder12
Donald Mengel12
Charles Leonard12
Laurie Ann Cooper12
Rob Apple12
John Sondermann12
Christopher Mortensen12
George Hollerbach11
Erik Leeds11
John Prohira11
Sean Andrish11
Alisa Springman11
John Shepard11
Doug Freese11
John Hampton11
Prasad Gerard11
Adam Hill11
Ernesto Casarez11
Marlin Yoder10
Milton Webb10
David Hughes10
Farouk Elkassed10
Bob Coyne10
Joy Valvano10
Gary Maier10
Dave Gallen10
John Weitzel10
Mark Zimmermann10
Steve Platt10
Dale Weitzel10
James Moore10
John DeWalt10
Pete Pontzer10
Jen Jacobs10
Scott Crabb10
Gregory Loomis10
Brent Fenstermacher10
Darin Dunham10
Libby Crockart10
Rick Moyer10
Maureen Rohrs10
Bill Turrentine10

BRR Home Page | Top of Page